Smashbox High Definition Healthy FX Foundation SPF 15

So it turns out that my favorite foundation ever, the MAKE UP FOREVER Face and Body Foundation made my skin break out. I mean, seriously break out. I had to spend $140 on a facial and another $30 getting my Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant to fix it. Now, my skin looks better than ever, but I’m now without a foundation. The lovely girl who did my facial at Spa Toscana (Kayla, maybe?) recommended the Smashbox Healthy FX Foundation.

It’s 1 ounce for $38, which is typical of high-end foundations, but not the best price. It contains SPF, vitamins, minerals, and other good stuff for your skin. It’s also supposed to be moisturizing all day and give you flawless results. Comes in 13 different shades ranging from Fair 0 to Dark D2.

Well, how to define this foundation? I don’t know if I love it or if it’s worthless. I discovered that I’m Fair F2, the darkest shade of fair, but it has just a touch of peach to it. I mean, it blends into my skin and doesn’t make me look freaky, but it doesn’t compliment my natural golden undertones. It kind of…fights them. Not really noticeable, but still worth noting. This means you’ll need to pair it with a powder to make it more even, and the ONLY powder that works with this is the Smashbox Halo powder.

The pump on this foundation is fabulous! I get exactly how much I want, unlike with my MAC Pro Longwear Concealer pump where pressing down means getting more concealer than you need and wasting. It’s a light foundation, and it goes on light and almost watery. You don’t get a lot of coverage, so you can’t skip concealer with this either. It evens skintone and makes me look naturally flawless, but…this foundation has its flaws.

For one, I get a super natural finish (not a supernatural one). This means my skin looks a bit shiny, like I didn’t put any makeup on at all, but I still have some coverage with it. It doesn’t aggrevate my acne at all, and I can definitely see the moisturizing benefits. No highlighting dry patches, or dealing with dry patches later in the day. It stays very well, but I have to work with this a lot to make it perfect. Absolutely needs a primer! My nose is the shiniest by the end of the day, and this foundation doesn’t cover my nose pores.

This isn’t something you can wear by itself, even if you have flawless skin. This foundation requires a primer, concealer, and powder to work. This is the least cake-like foundation ever, even beating the MUFE Face and Body Foundation that was over 70% water. And it’s very acne friendly, which is what I really need right now. It’s light, natural, and makes you look like you aren’t wearing makeup, but don’t have totally imperfect skin. It’s true camoflauge! But I can’t decide if it’s worth the hassle of primer, concealer, and Smashbox Halo powder to keep. But, until I find a foundation that’s not going to break me out, I’ll stick to this.

Leave a Reply

